Never again? The Holocaust as Judgment

If you do a Google search for “never again holocaust” you’ll find at least 739,000 sites. Chris Doyle writes the blog Never again, which is devoted to the shoah “destruction, calamity” (the Jewish Holocaust of World War 2). In his introduction to his blog, Doyle says:

“I am a Gentile Christian who was not directly effected by the Jewish Holocaust. However, I had relatives who fought valiantly for the Allied cause, including my paternal grandfather. I am forever grateful to Grandpa Doyle and America’s “Greatest Generation” for their bravery in defending freedom. Likewise, I am grateful for the untold masses who were spared execution in Nazi-controlled Europe.”

“I have dedicated the better part of two years to Holocaust research, devouring every book or video I could check out at the local library. I have subjected my wife to countless hours of documentaries and heated discussions about the unspeakable atrocities we call The Holocaust (or Shoah). I agree with author David S. Wyman’s conclusion that the Holocaust was not only a Jewish tragedy. “It was also a Christian tragedy, a tragedy for Western civilization, and a tragedy for all humankind” (from Wyman’s Preface to The Abandonment of the Jews, p. xii).”

On September 24, 2009, I posted the following comment:

I am deeply moved that you are so affected by the Holocaust. In my case, I am a Jew who follows Yeshua, so for most Jews I am a traitor. But with Shaul (Paul), I ask has God forgotten his people – the apple of his eye? God forbid! as Shaul (Paul) says in Roman 11.1.

“Yet, both the Tanakh (OT) and the New Testament speak much about only a remnant of Jews being preserved (“saved” in Christian language). Your blog is “never again”, which is also the cry of all Jews. My question is this: Is the cry “never again” from God or from man? Most modern Jews do not believe in the Tanakh. According to a strong nucleus of modern Torah Jews – and most Torah Jews of the past – Zionism is of man, not of Zion (God). As you probably know, the pioneer Zionists like Theodor Herzl and Chaim Weizmann were anything but Torah Jews as I pointed out in my blog “onedaringjew” (forgive the advertising, but I pray it is not just vanity on my part). Are you familiar with Art Katz – http://www.benisrael.com?”

I never received a reply. Here are a few more thoughts on what I believe the Bible says are reasons for the Shoah:

For most Christians and Jews, in fact for all religious mankind, blessing is the paramount sign of God’s ultimate love and approval. Here is Art Katz on “blessing” and how it relates to Zionism:

(My transcript – from about 53 minutes into the video The Love of the Truth )

“Is it not our conceit that something must be of God because of ostensible blessing? Is that all it takes to persuade you a thing is of God because there is an apparent blessing? If that is your only criterion, you’re already on dangerous ground that leads to deception or is already deception. The enemy can well simulate and bring apparent blessing, even bring release from things that have agitated and marred the life of believers, and if we constitute that as being the necessary evidence of God because it is a relief or a release or an apparent blessing, we are already on dangerous ground. There must be something beyond blessing that persuades us that something is of God. And that rests on the knowledge of God Himself as God and not on the blessing that he seems to confer. This is a kind of presumption that Zionist Israel is practising in her assurance that here ultimate security for peace is certain or deserved because anything else would be unthinkable. It’s hard for Israel to think the unthinkable. It’s hard to think that God would allow after a half century of political existence the devastation, the expulsion and the demise of that nation. But is it any harder than conceiving of the God who allowed the destruction of Jerusalem and the temple in 586 BC, or in 70 AD where the blood was as high as the horses’ bridles, and over a million were killed and the rest plunged into exile? I think that the love of the truth requires us to have a capacity to think the unthinkable. And when we draw a line and say, “I will not consider that,” we are already on dangerous ground that is presumptuous against God. How many of you know the name of Eli Wiesel, the great honored Jewish writer of the holocaust, whose book “Night” I would commend to you as one of the most searing descriptions of the holocaust in which his entire family was wiped out at Auschwitz. He alone is the sole survivor, and he has become the most recognized Jewish writer on the holocaust. And I once had an opportunity of hearing him speak publicly. And then there was a question and answer session where the Lord did not allow me to ask him publicly, but when it was over, I went up to him and I said, ‘in your talk you mentioned that you’re meeting twice a week with a rabbi in the study of scripture. May I ask to what degree you are willing to consider that our Jewish history of calamity and even for the recent holocaust itself is the fulfilment of judgments promised in the concluding chapters of Deuteronomy and Leviticus that would afflict us in the last days.’ He looked at me, time stood still, frozen, and he spoke this imperishable answer, ‘I refuse to consider that.'”

As I said in Christian Zionism – the Trouble with Jacob, Art Katz is execrated by all Zionist Jews, Zionist Christians, and most Messianic Jews (Jews who believe in Yeshua/Jesus). Why is this so? For at least two reasons. Katz said that the Jewish holocaust was the result of the Jewish rejection of the Messiah and that modern Israel is an abomination, is under the wrath of God, and that it is due for destruction. When I study the scriptures carefully, I find it hard to argue against Art Katz’s view. Here are a few pertinent scriptures.

“On the day that I cleanse you from all your iniquities, I will cause the cities to be inhabited, and the waste places will be rebuilt. And the desolate land will be  cultivated instead of being a desolation in the sight of everyone who passed by. And they will say, ‘This desolate land has become like the garden of Eden; and the waste, desolate, and ruined cities are fortified and inhabited” (Ezekiel 36:33-35).

“Like the flock for sacrifices, like the flock at Jerusalem during her appointed feasts, so will the waste cities be filled with flocks of men. Then they will know that I am the Lord” (Ezekiel 36:38).

These verses must point to the future – after Jacob’s trouble – because modern Israel, in large part,  either despises or is indifferent to the Holy One of Israel. And  no living Jew  (who the rabbis define as a Jew) believes in Yeshua. And surely, Israel can only be cleansed from its iniquities after it (the remnant that survive Jacob’s trouble) will know that “I – Yeshua – am the Lord.”

“Do not fear, O Jacob my servant; do not be dismayed, O Israel. I will surely save you out of a distant place, your descendants from the land of their exile. Jacob will again have peace and security, and no one will make him afraid” (Jeremiah 46:27).

Zionist Christians – many of whom are “charismatic” Christians – believe that the present State of Israel consists of Jews who have been saved out of a distant place. However, it is clear that the modern “Jacob”  (Israel) has no peace and security. The Bible is clear that only after they have been saved from a distant place will they no longer be afraid. The State of Israel is not only very unsafe, it is the unsafest place on earth.

After God restores the remnant to Israel, “they shall serve the Lord their God, and David their king whom I will raise up for them” (Jer. 30:9).  “And My servant David will be King over them, and they will all have one shepherd…” (Ezekiel 37:24a).

Here is a photo of 15 World War II rabbis, who opposed the founding of the State of Israel because they believed that it is the ultimate will of God that it will be the Messiah, not man, who will re-establish the Jews in the “land” ha-aretz.

Pathetic disfigurements of humanity. Dust.  Many of these rabbis were murdered in the holocaust.  Chaim Weizmann, one of the key founders of Zionism, was asked before WWII: “Can you bring six million Jews to Palestine?” I replied, “No.” … From the depths of the tragedy I want to save … young people [for Palestine] “The old ones will pass. They will bear their fate or they will not. They are dust, economic and moral dust in a cruel world … Only the branch of the young shall survive. They have to accept it.” (Chaim Weizmann reporting to the Zionist Congress in 1937 on his testimony before the Peel Commission in London).

The original photo was smaller and clearer.  In this blow-up, the figures evaporate into a puff of dust: moral – and economic – dust. (See my Moral Dust).

“You will arise and have mercy on Zion; for the time to favour her, yes, the set time, has come. For Your servants take pleasure in her stones, and show pity to her dust” (Psalm 102:13-14).

Who or what is Zion? Is it the land, is it the people? Surely, in God’s eyes, it is the living stones of Israel. Not so for Weizmann:  “You are dust; the dust of the Land of Israel. (Chaim Weizmann reporting to the Zionist Congress in 1937 on his testimony before the Peel Commission in London).

As I said in The Holocaust in Latvia, as a result of the holocaust, the faith of many Jews flickered, and  died. My days vanish like smoke; my bones burn like glowing embers. My heart is blighted and withered like grass; I forget to eat my food. Because of my loud groaning I am reduced to skin and bones. All day long my enemies taunt me; those who rail against me use my name as a curse. For I eat ashes as my food and mingle my drink with tears because of your great wrath, for you have taken me up and thrown me aside. My days are like the evening shadow; I wither away like grass (Psalm 102).

But for others, the flames and the ashes and the smoke may temporarily blot out faith, only to flicker into life again. BUT you, O LORD, sit enthroned forever; your renown endures through all generations (end of Psalm 102).

How could anyone praise God after such misery. Well, that is the mystery of Israel. And the mystery of all humanity, and, most of all, the mystery of God. Every Jew, even those Jews who despise or are indifferent to Biblical Judaism – the Jewish majority – cannot tear up the covenant that God made with His people. They are not willing or able to do that.

One thought on “Never again? The Holocaust as Judgment

Leave a Reply

