Faith in Christ is ordained by the Father to those whom the Father draws

Our life’s path – including access to knowledge and the decisions we make about who the Messiah is – is ordained by God.
Isaiah 46
10 I make known the end from the beginning,
from ancient times, what is still to come.
I say, ‘My purpose will stand,
and I will do all that I please.’
11 From the east I summon a bird of prey;
from a far-off land, a man to fulfill my purpose.
What I have said, that I will bring about;
what I have planned, that I will do.
12 Listen to me, you stubborn-hearted,
you who are now far from my righteousness.
13 I am bringing my righteousness near,
it is not far away;
and my salvation will not be delayed.
I will grant salvation to Zion,
my splendor to Israel.

Salvation is granted to Israel – a stump of a stump ultimately – because God ordained it. God has mercy on whom he wants to have mercy. God’s decision is not based on any kind of work (mitzva).
And the LORD said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the LORD, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion. (Exodus 33:19).
This does not mean that man is a pawn; he is responsible for his actions. Here is mystery of course – the secret things of God.  We can examine the evidence until the cows come home, but ultimately it is God who MOOves us, that draws us towards him.

John 6
35 Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst. 36 But I said to you that you have seen Me, and yet do not believe. 37 All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will certainly not cast out. 38 For I have come down from heaven, not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me. 39 This is the will of Him who sent Me, that of all that He has given Me I lose nothing, but raise it up on the last day. 40 For this is the will of My Father, that everyone who beholds the Son and believes in Him will have eternal life, and I Myself will raise him up on the last day.”
41 Therefore the Jews were grumbling about Him, because He said, “I am the bread that came down out of heaven.” 42 They were saying, “Is not this Jesus, the son of Joseph, whose father and mother we know? How does He now say, ‘I have come down out of heaven’?” 43 Jesus answered and said to them, “Do not grumble among yourselves. 44 No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him; and I will raise him up on the last day.

This, naturally, is nonsense to the Jew – to the Jew first – and to the Gentile; unless the Father draws them.

One thought on “Faith in Christ is ordained by the Father to those whom the Father draws

  1. Your imaginative disinterpretation of Ex. 33:19 obviously flows from your Augustinian, Christological presumptions that G-d is inherently capricious and that man is inherently depraved.

    On the other hand, if we put Ex. 33:19 back into it’s Biblical context, we can see that G-d rewards good conduct and punishes poor conduct (see Deut. 30:15-18, for example).

    It’s quite a contrast, you as apologist for Christianity and the Bible as exponent of Judaism: you paint man as incapable of obedience and G-d as cruel to establish unattainable standards, and you suggest that once in a blue moon G-d gets a twinge of guilt and takes pity on one of his billions of depraved creations, but sends the rest to hell. On the other hand, the Hebrew scriptures reveal a clear insistence on G-d’s part (whom we know does not lie) that man absolutely can discharge the Law, and has the personal responsibility to do so. Big difference.

Leave a Reply

