Jesus is Jehovah? I’ll be damned!

The only way you can escape saying – and in so saying, why would you want to escape such a great salvation? – that Jesus is Jehovah/Yahweh is to say that the Bible was corrupted or something even sillier, namely, that nowhere in the New Testament does Jesus say He is God.

“Jesus Christ is Jehovah. Only Jehovah can say ” I, even I, am he that forgiveth thy sins.” Jesus says ” Be of good cheer; thy sins are forgiven thee.” Only Jehovah can say ” They have forsaken me, the fountain of living water.” Jesus says ” If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink.” Only Jehovah can say ” As a bridegroom rejoiceth over his bride, so will I rejoice, O Zion, over thee.” Jesus says ” I am the bridegroom, and how can the children of the bridechamber fast while I am with them ? ” Only Jehovah can say ” Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart ;” and Jesus says ” If any man loves father or mother or wife or child more than me, he is not worthy of me.” Who is Jesus ? He is Jehovah, and Jehovah promised that He would come, and Jehovah has come according to His promise. Because Jesus is Jehovah, He is the centre to gather Israel. ” How often would I have gathered thy children together.” Could any prophet ever have said that, or any angel ? Could the angel Michael come down and say ” Israel, come to me?” Jesus is the centre of Israel. Jesus says ” I will build my Church”—” My Church.” The eccclesia belongs only to Jehovah. When Jesus says to Peter ” Feed my sheep,” how are they His sheep, unless He be Jehovah who is the shepherd of the flock?”

Adolph Saphir, “The testimony of Jesus considered” in “The divine unity of scripture,” p. 71- 72

Here’s a terrible thing: if you reject that “I am he” (Ego Eimi), if you reject his terrible majesty, you are, in Jesus’ Book, damned. The first terrible is horrible, the second – oh how words, in this crass world, have lost their meaning – glorious.

Leave a Reply

