My President Nelson Invictus Mandela: About to meet his maker

Nelson Mandela was the President of my country from 1994 – 1999. He was a very good President. His favourite poem was the short Victorian poem ”Invictus” by William Ernest Henley 1849–1903).

mandela

Mandela used to recite this poem to his fellow political prisoners on Robben Island, seven kilometres off the coast of Cape Town. Here is the poem:

Out of the night that covers me,

Black as the pit from pole to pole,

I thank whatever gods may be

For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance

I have not winced nor cried aloud.

Under the bludgeonings of chance

My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears

Looms but the Horror of the shade,

And yet the menace of the years

Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,

How charged with punishments the scroll,

I am the master of my fate:

I am the captain of my soul.

(See Invictus and the Victim for my soul: Nelson Mandela and Christ).

For Pope Francis, it’s ok if you were the captain of your own soul, as long as you were a good person. Christ will therefore welcome Mandela into his kingdom – and most would agree.
(See Mary Coredemptrix in the face of God’s terrible majesty). Pope Francis’ view, of course, is not the Christ’s view; that is why Christianity is hated so.

Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because they have not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.” (John 3:18). And, of course, this does not mean you don’t need to be good once you believe.

5 thoughts on “My President Nelson Invictus Mandela: About to meet his maker

  1. Mandela was and is an example of the struggle for human justice. I applaud and admire him in many ways. This does not mean I agree with him on other things.

    The Apostle Paul quoted Pagan Greek poets where they were correct in certain instances. Paul’s use of the poets in one area does not however give blanket endorsement to all their ideas.

    Frederick Douglas was an ardent Christian that all believers should read. He exposed false Christianity as expressed in the doctrines that justified *racial slave-holding*. Just as legitimate systems of belief in the Jewish 1st Century became dominated by evil individuals who looked pious, the same corruption was prophesied to occur in Christian belief (see Acts 20.29-30, warnings from Jesus, et al.). Christianity is rife with error and failure. The Savior remains pure however and is coming to usher in a glorious age. Come Lord Jesus.

  2. Pingback: Invictus and the Victim for my soul: Nelson Mandela and Christ | OneDaringJew

Leave a Reply

