Mary, mother and God: What have they done to the mother of my Lord?

One of the reasons why Mary, the mother of Jesus, has such an exalted position in the Roman Catholic Church is that she is called “Mary full of grace.” Here is an explanation of this term from Catholic Answers:

“The Fathers of the Church taught that Mary received a number of distinctive blessings in order to make her a more fitting mother for Christ and the prototypical Christian (follower of Christ). These blessings included her role as the New Eve (corresponding to Christ’s role as the New Adam), her Immaculate Conception, her spiritual motherhood of all Christians, and her Assumption into heaven. These gifts were given to her by God’s grace. She did not earn them, but she possessed them nonetheless. The key to understanding all these graces is Mary’s role as the New Eve, which the Fathers proclaimed so forcefully. Because she is the New Eve, she, like the New Adam, was born immaculate, just as the First Adam and Eve were created immaculate. Because she is the New Eve, she is mother of the New Humanity (Christians), just as the first Eve was the mother of humanity. And, because she is the New Eve, she shares the fate of the New Adam. Whereas the First Adam and Eve died and went to dust, the New Adam and Eve were lifted up physically into heaven.” (See Mary highly favoured, mother of the son of God)

In Luke’s Gospel, the angel Gabriel comes to Mary and says:

Luke 1:28 The angel went to her (Mary) and said, “Greetings, you who are highly favored! The Lord is with you.” Jerome translated the Greek charitoō (highly favoured) as “full of grace.” This Vulgate mistranslation of the Greek is one of the buttresses of the Roman Catholic doctrines about Mary; doctrines such as she was conceived without sin (the Immaculate Conception) and was taken up bodily (assumed) into Heaven (the Assumption).

In The Little Office of the Virgin Mary, “Mary occupies a place in the Church which is highest after Christ and yet very close to us, for you chose her to give the world that very Life which renews all things, Jesus Christ your Son and our Lord. And so we praise you, Mary, virgin and mother. After the Savior himself, you alone are all holy, free from the stain of sin, gifted by God from the first instant of your conception with a unique holiness.” (Italics added).

Contrast  “After the Savior himself, you alone are all holy, free from the stain of sin, gifted by God from the first instant of your conception with a unique holiness” with the “Seraphic doctor” of the Roman Catholic Church,  Saint Bonaventure’s “Psalter of the Blessed Virgin Mary” in which he substitutes Mary for him who is her creator and Lord. (See biography of Bonaventure).

 Psalm 1:1

Bonaventure’s psalter – Blessed is the man, O Virgin Mary, who loves thy name; thy grace will comfort his soul.

Bible – Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners,

Psalm 3:1a

Bonaventure (Mary replaces the Lord)  – O Lady, why are they multiplied who afflict me?

Bible – O Lord, how many are my foes!

Psalm 4:1a

Bonaventure (Mary usurps God’s throne) – When I called upon thee, thou didst hear me, O Lady: and from thy throne on high thou hast deigned to be mindful of me.

Bible – Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness!   You have given me relief when I was in distress.

Psalm 25:1

Bonaventure (Mary as merciful  Judge) – Judge me, O Lady, for I have departed from my innocence: but because I have hoped in thee I shall not become weak. Enkindle my heart with the fire of thy love: and with the girdle of chastity bind my reins. For thy mercy and thy clemency are before my eyes: and I was delighted in the voice of thy praise.

Bible – In you, Lord my God, I put my trust.

Psalm 30

Bonaventure – In thee, O Lady, have I hoped, let me never be confounded: receive me in thy grace. Thou art my strength and my refuge: my consolation and my protection. To thee, O Lady, have I cried, when my heart was in anguish: and thou hast heard me from the heights of the eternal hills. Thou shalt draw me out of the snares which they hid for me: for thou art my helper. Into thy hands, O Lady, I commend my spirit: my whole life and my last day.

Bible – 1. I will exalt you, Lord, for you lifted me out of the depths and did not let my enemies gloat over me. 2. Lord my God, I called to you for help, and you healed me. 3. You, Lord, brought me up from the realm of the dead;  you spared me from going down to the pit. 4.  Sing the praises of the Lord, you his faithful people;     praise his holy name.

Bonaventure was canonised (made a saint) on 14 April 1482 by Pope Sixtus IV and declared a Doctor of the Church in 1588 by Pope Sixtus V. Who is the more guilty for Bonaventure’s misventure into idolatry, exalting the mother of the Messiah above her creator, Bonaventure or the (office of the) pope?  “He will oppose and will exalt himself over everything that is called God or is worshiped, so that he sets himself up in God’s temple, proclaiming himself to be God… And now you know what is holding him back, so that he may be revealed at the proper time (2 Thessalonians 2:4, 6).

Related source

Greg Price. Astonishing Unbelief and Idolatry (From Nazareth to the Roman Catholic Antichrist) – mp3

5 thoughts on “Mary, mother and God: What have they done to the mother of my Lord?

  1. Initially Mary and her other sons did not comprehend Jesus’ full identity or mission. Later she understood she was the human connection: “woman” from the term for her instead of “mother” used by Jesus in part. She was the “woman” and Christ the Divine Seed that fulfilled the ancient promise given by God in Genesis 3.15. The virgin birth was necessary to fulfill the promise.

    God chose Abraham and promised that the world would be blessed through his seed: Christ (see Gal. 3.16). The promise of the Divine Seed was further narrowed to one from David’s line. Luke’s genealogy from David to Christ is Mary’s. Paul in Gal. 4.4 uses “woman” also to show the fulfillment of the Genesis promise.

    All this is somewhat tangent to your post but important nonetheless to help understand Mary’s role in our redemption.

    • The titles are so many: Queen of Heaven, God’s Mother, Eternal Virgin, Madonna Della Strada, and so on. There is no limit to the number of titles in the spanish speaking world.

      But Mary (Miriam) herself says in Luke: God’s humble servant. And after giving birth to our Messiah, she gave her husband Joseph several children, sons and daughters.

      http://wp.me/p3tGFm-6d

      Is the worship of Mary a secret cover for Isis worship?

      • In reply to your inquiry: I don’t know.
        Mary had to be a normal woman according Gen. 3.15 it seems. However I would not study Isis worship to find out. I would rather know the bible better.

      • shek1na

        The gender issue in ideas about God are quite complicated. Men and women are so different, many want God to be masculine-feminine. If they can’t have that combination, they are going to divinise the gender that has not been divinised in scripture. This may be one reason – there are others – why Mary has been given this glorious position.

Leave a Reply

