More songs in church – Won’t you reign me in again

Here are the titles of songs sung at the same service:

Lord reign in me.
I lift my hands.
Blessed Assurance.

So far, very nice titles. Here is a verse from each:

Lord reign in me – Last verse: “Lord reign in me, Reign in your power, Over all my dreams, In my darkest hour, you are the Lord of all I am, So won’t you reign in me again.

Comment: If “you are the Lord of all I am,” why do you – in the next breath – warble, “So, won’t you reign in me again?” Say no more.

There was less than a minute interval between the above verse and the first verse of the next song.
I lift my hands – First verse: “I lift my hands to the coming king, To the great I am to You I sing, For you’re the One who reigns within my heart.”

Comment: So which is it? “For you’re the one who reigns within my heart” or the plea in the last verse of the previous song you sang a moment before: “So won’t you reign in me again.” Shouldn’t you be singing, “So won’t you feign in me again.”

The next song was Blessed Assurance. Last verse – “Perfect submission, all is at rest, I in my saviour am happy and blessed, Watching and waiting, looking above, Filled with his goodness, lost in his love.”

Put it all together, it spells smother: Blessed assurance reigning in me, reign me in again.

But who cares! They’re nice songs. Anyhow it’s too late to do anything about it one minute before proceedings begin.

Leave a Reply

