Another song – No, you never poured out your life, and definitely not again and again: A discordant note

Once again, one more discordant note,  to sow discord. The song in question is called, prophetically, “Once again.” Here are the lyrics:

Once Again

Jesus Christ, I think upon Your sacrifice
You became nothing, poured out to death.
Many times I’ve wondered at Your gift of life
and I’m in that place once again.
Yes, I’m in that place once again.

And once again I look upon the cross where You died
I’m humbled by Your mercy and I’m broken inside.
Once again I thank You, Once again I pour out my life.
 

Now You are exalted to the highest place,
King of the heavens where one day I’ll bow.
But for now, I marvel at Your saving grace
and I’m full of praise once again.
Yes, I’m full of praise once again.
 

And once again I look upon the cross where You died
I’m humbled by Your mercy and I’m broken inside.
Once again I thank You, Once again I pour out my life.
 

Thank You for the cross; Thank You for the cross
Thank You for the cross, my Friend.
Thank You for the cross; Thank You for the cross
Thank You for the cross, my Friend.

And once again I look upon the cross where You died
I’m humbled by Your mercy and I’m broken inside.
Once again I thank You, Once again I pour out my life.
 

Much in this song is faithful to the Bible. There are even a few words from the Bible. I wonder whether the song writer was aware of the context of these few words ‘I pour out my life.” Is there a verse that says something about the Christian pouring out his life, and, pouring it out “once again,” as in this song? No, nothing on both counts. There is, though, in the Bible a pouring out of life, but not your life. When did you, and how many times do you, pour out your soul to death and bear the sin of many,
 and make intercession for them? 

Here is somebody who did do that, and once for all (time), and which was enough to pay the price for those Jesus died for, which may also include you. 

Isaiah 53 

10  Yet it was the will of the Lord to crush him;
 he has put him to grief; when his soul makes[h] an offering for guilt,
 he shall see his offspring; he shall prolong his days; the will of the Lord shall prosper in his hand. 11 Out of the anguish of his soul he shall see and be satisfied;
by his knowledge shall the righteous one, my servant,
    make many to be accounted righteous,
and he shall bear their iniquities. 12  Therefore I will divide him a portion with the many, and he shall divide the spoil with the strong, becausehe poured out his soul to death and was numbered with the transgressors;
yet he bore the sin of many,
 and makes intercession for the transgressors. 

That doesn’t mean that you cannot, with the psalmist, pour out your soul, your heart to God. 

When I remember these things, I pour out my soul in me: for I had gone with the multitude, I went with them to the house of God, with the voice of joy and praise, with a multitude of the festive throng” (Psalm 42:4). 

Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us. Selah” (Psalm 62:8). 

The Apostle Paul, not long before his execution, does say “For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time for my departure is near” (2 Timothy 4:6). 

Firstly, there might exist a few Christians who suffered as much as Paul. Examine yourself to establish whether you are in this league. If not, church leaders don’t bring such songs to church. Secondly, Paul would not say “I pour out myself,” and certainly not, “I pour out my life” because he would know that he was tearing scripture out of context – a unique unrepeatable event: the Suffering Servant, who poured out his soul unto death, once for all time.

If Jesus poured out his blood for you, don’t sing these songs; silly, at best, blasphemous, at worst. They deceive mixed with truth. Examine whether you are truly in the faith once for all (time) delivered to the “saints,” (Jude 1:3), God’s holy people. Who are God’s holy people? Those the Father gave the Son (John 17) before the world began, and, as a result, “received him, who believed in his name, (whom) he gave the right to become children of God, 13 who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.” (John 1:12b-13).

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Another song – No, you never poured out your life, and definitely not again and again: A discordant note

Leave a Reply

