Joel Osteen: I like to start with something funny

Joel Osteen starts each of his presentations with “I always like to start with something funny,” and after the funny bit and while the audience laughter is still in full throat, he holds up his Bible and says: “This is my Bible. I am what it says I am, I have what it says I have, I can do what it says I can do. Today I’ll be taught the Word of God. I boldly confess my mind is alert, my heart is receptive, I’ll never be the same, in Jesus name.”

Chris Rosebrough (Pirate Christian radio) often airs snippets of Osteen’s “sermons,” which begin with his standard intro. Then immediately after Osteen’s “Today I’ll be taught the word of God,” Rosebrough interrupts: “No we won’t. “Osteen’s antics are surely among the most flagrant abuses of the Bible he holds up, which, if we are to go by his sermons, he obviously does not hold dear. (See Twisting God’s word: Joel Osteen et al).

Envision – cherish your vision – Osteen starting off with this:

Labor to get your hearts mortified, that is, dead to the world. We must not content ourselves that we have gotten some reasoning about the vanity of the creature, and such things as these; but we must exercise mortification (Rom 8:13) and be crucified to the world (Gal 6:14). We should “die daily” to the world (1Co 15:31). We are baptized into the death of Christ (Rom 6:3) to signify that we profess to be even as dead men to the world. Now, no crosses that fall out in the world trouble those who are dead! If our hearts were dead to the world we should not be much troubled with the changes of the world or the tossings about of worldly things. It is very noteworthy in those soldiers who came to break the bones of Christ that they found He was dead, so they did not break His legs. Let afflictions and troubles find you with a mortified heart to the world, and they will not break your bones. Those whose bones are broken by crosses and afflictions are those who are alive to the world. But no afflictions or troubles will break the bones of one who has a mortified heart and is dead to the world. The things in which our happiness consists are of a different kind, and we may be happy without these. This is a kind of deadness to the world.

(Jeremiah Burroughs, “The rare jewel of Christian contentment.” Part Three: Applications and Conclusion).

Leave a Reply

