Where Arminians and Arminius are at odds – Calvin

I found this quotation from Arminius in Spurgeon’s lectures on “Commenting and commentatories.”

“Prophecy” in Arminius means “inspired expounding of the word of God.”

Spurgeon writes:

“If you needed any confirmatory evidence as to the value of his writings, I might summon a cloud of witnesses, but it will suffice to quote one or two. Here is the opinion of one who is looked upon as his great enemy, namely, Arminius: “Next to the perusal of the Scriptures, which I earnestly inculcate, I exhort my pupils to peruse Calvin’s commentaries, which I extol in loftier terms than Helmich himself [“Werner Helmich, a Dutch Protestant divine, A.D. 1551-1608]; for I affirm that he excels beyond comparison in the interpretation of Scripture, and that his commentaries ought to be more highly valued than all that is handed down to us by the Library of the Fathers; so that I acknowledge him to have possessed above most other or rather above all other men, what may be called an eminent gift of prophecy.”

I have not read any Arminian, for example, Dave Hunt or Roger Olson, who does not abhor Calvin.

2 thoughts on “Where Arminians and Arminius are at odds – Calvin

  1. I was raised in a church that taught Arminianism and that the Bible is the Word of God. Over time I kept reading about predestination and God’s Sovereignty and that God chose His elect before the foundations of the earth in the book of Ephesians chapters 1-2 and book of Romans chapters 8-11. So eventually I was left with this choice; who is more authoritative my church denomination’s doctrine or God and His Word in the Bible? Similarly, who is more authoritative Christian scholars who are well respected (and write books and are on Christian radio and TV) or God and His Word in the Bible?

Leave a Reply

