Does this world seek Jesus because of your loving yet uncompromising testimony? Perhaps.

Here is typical question in a sermon: “Does this world want Jesus because of your loving yet uncompromising testimony?”

Sometimes. But this loving and uncompromising testimony is only a means, one among many possible means God uses to save his elect, that is, those upon whom he had decreed to show mercy; for example, the death of a loved one, surviving an accident, philosophical proofs for the existence of God, hearing a Bible verse.  These means are the visible “secondary causes” while God’s decree is the primary one. the real cause, which is both efficient and sufficient to save.

John 6:37
that the Father giveth me shall come to me; and him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out…. John 6:44…
man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day… John 6:65
said, Therefore said I unto you, that no man can come unto me, except it were given unto him of my Father.

Related: Does God plan the end – and the means?

2 thoughts on “Does this world seek Jesus because of your loving yet uncompromising testimony? Perhaps.

  1. I think the more Christians understand the distinction between secondary and primary means of people’s salvation ,the more we pray and the more we give God the credit for people’s salvation

    • SJ
      Arminians don’t (want to) accept this distinction. That is why they reject “compatibilism” between God’s decrees and man’s responsibility. Both are taught in scripture. Does any one understand how this works. I doubt it. By the way, this quote was from Ray Comfort, who says on his Facebook page that he is neither Calvinist nor Armnian. And we know what that hybrid is called: a Calminian.

Leave a Reply

