Blessed is the man, O Virgin Mary, who loves thy name; thy grace will comfort his soul (Psalm 1): Blessed be the Name

Mariology & Mary Debate: James White vs. Robert Fastiggi.

“This, writes Drew Mery, is an excellent debate on a very serious matter. The thesis of the debate is basically this: Does the devotion given to Mary detract from the glory of Christ? Robert Fastiggi (Roman Catholic) says no. James White (Reformed Baptist) says yes. Call me bias, but Dr. White did a fabulous job in this debate, demonstrating from Catholic resources that the teaching of and devotion to Mary by Roman Catholics does indeed detract from the glory of Christ’s redeeming work. Dr. Fastiggi’s argument basically amounts to him quoting Catholic sources that say that devotion to Mary is not to detract from Christ; but simply saying this doesn’t make it so (a point James White repeatedly brings up). Actions do speak louder than words. Dr. Fastiggi also makes various attempts to support Catholic dogma on Mary by referencing passages of Mary in the Scriptures, but his points require a stretch of the imagination. Watch the debate yourself to find out what I mean.”

See https://reformedbaptistdaily.wordpress.com/2013/08/09/mariology-mary-debate-james-white-vs-robert-fastiggi/

Thank you, Drew, for this very useful synopsis. I watched the yesteryear YouTube debate yesterday. Yes, White did a masterful job. Thank our precious Lord for how He has used White through the years and hopefully will continue to do so. At first, I didn’t recognize the lanky hairy man until I heard his voice.

Fastiggi continually emphasised that Mary’s role was to point to Jesus. White cited several Roman Catholic sources that proved otherwise. Fastiggi’s reaction – all smiles. One RC source White didn’t quote was the “Seraphic doctor,” Saint Bonaventure’s “Psalter of the Blessed Virgin Mary” in which he substitutes Mary for her Creator and Lord.

Psalm 1:1

Bonaventure’s psalter – Blessed is the man, O Virgin Mary, who loves thy name; thy grace will comfort his soul.

Bible – Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners,

Psalm 3:1a

Bonaventure (Mary replaces the Lord) – O Lady, why are they multiplied who afflict me?

Bible – O Lord, how many are my foes!

Psalm 4:1a

Bonaventure (Mary usurps God’s throne) – When I called upon thee, thou didst hear me, O Lady: and from thy throne on high thou hast deigned to be mindful of me.

Bible – Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness! You have given me relief when I was in distress.

Psalm 25:1

Bonaventure (Mary as merciful Judge) – Judge me, O Lady, for I have departed from my innocence: but because I have hoped in thee I shall not become weak. Enkindle my heart with the fire of thy love: and with the girdle of chastity bind my reins. For thy mercy and thy clemency are before my eyes: and I was delighted in the voice of thy praise.

Bible – In you, Lord my God, I put my trust.

Psalm 30

Bonaventure – In thee, O Lady, have I hoped, let me never be confounded: receive me in thy grace. Thou art my strength and my refuge: my consolation and my protection. To thee, O Lady, have I cried, when my heart was in anguish: and thou hast heard me from the heights of the eternal hills. Thou shalt draw me out of the snares which they hid for me: for thou art my helper. Into thy hands, O Lady, I commend my spirit: my whole life and my last day.

How much clearer can the blasphemy get! But Roman Catholics just smile; after all, the popes – God on earth – have spoken. Not to forget the Joshuaesque apparitions.

SEE “What have they done to the mother of my Lord?

https://onedaringjew.wordpress.com/2013/07/29/psalm-25-judge-me-o-lady-for-i-have-departed-from-my-innocence-what-have-they-done-to-the-mother-of-my-lord/

2 thoughts on “Blessed is the man, O Virgin Mary, who loves thy name; thy grace will comfort his soul (Psalm 1): Blessed be the Name

Leave a Reply

