Answering “I don’t believe in the Trinity because the Word Trinity is not in the Bible”

The author of this reblogged article writes:

“While teaching Christology overseas a student asked me how does one handle the following objection: ‘I don’t believe in the Trinity because the Word Trinity is not in the Bible.'”

I am reminded of James White in his debate “Sola Scriptura” minute 1h30 min http://www.sermonaudio.com/sermoninfo.asp?SID=530151041410 The Jehovah’s witnesses say “show us the word ‘trinity’ in the Bible.” And I say, well, the Bible teaches that there is one true and God and three persons. “No, no, no, says the Jehovah’s witness, show me the word.” I am not saying that the word is in the Bible, but the Bible teaches us that there is one true…”No, no, no, show me where the word…”

The Domain for Truth

trinity

While teaching Christology overseas a student asked me how does one handle the following objection: “I don’t believe in the Trinity because the Word Trinity is not in the Bible.”

Here’s my take on the objection.

First, more important than the term is whether or not the concept of the Trinity is found in the Bible.  We must be more concern about the concept more than a specific theological terminology that Christians later use as a handle for the various truth claims about God.  If the concept of the Trinity is found in the Bible, it is enough to establish the doctrine of the Trinity.

I know my first point often don’t satisfy cultists and heretics. Hence the following points:

Secondly, just because you use biblical terminology doesn’t mean the concept behind the term you are using is faithful to the Bible.  I bring this point to illustrate that…

View original post 468 more words

One thought on “Answering “I don’t believe in the Trinity because the Word Trinity is not in the Bible”

Leave a Reply

