Santa is coming tonight, but my stocking is already full

Santa is coming tonight. Mummy told me. Why is he coming ’cause my stocking is already full? He wrote me a letter and told me that he has to take some stuff out. Not only some stuff, but has to empty the stocking completely. He explained all to me in his letter: “your stocking is full of sin.” He is coming to take it out and put in the greatest present of all. He is going to make me like Him. Not exactly like him. That can never be, ’cause Santa is Santa three times over:

Santa, Santa, Santa is the Lord Almighty;
the Earth is full of his glory

(Isaiah 6:3)

Next morning

Mummy, Mummy, my stocking is full again.
He is born, he has borne my sin, I am born again.

3 thoughts on “Santa is coming tonight, but my stocking is already full

  1. A Christian friend said to me that my piece is blasphemous. Why I asked. She replied “Santa” means “saint,” and Jesus is more than a saint, and “Santa” carries too much baggage to compare him with Jesus.

    Oh, dear, a writer always has to consider the danger that a reader may consider (over-)explanation to be a dumbing down. I replied to my friend that “Saint” means “holy.” So the Holy One (thrice holy) takes away sin and replaces it with a gift of holiness. When born again, Christians are “saints, a holy priesthood.” In “sanctification” (subsequent good works), Christians plumb deeper this gift of holiness received at regeneration.

    She wouldn’t buy it.

    • It could Indeed also be understood as a polemic. Here’s a thing: to understand the scope of the words, one has to understand the intention – first. Often the intention is not explicit. This may require an understanding of the “worldview” of the person, which one gets by reading other things the person said.

      SJ, when you heard me mention “intention” and “scope” did it perhaps trigger the intention and scope of the cross. Recall “God so loved the “world” … We Calvinists say it does not mean everyone in the world: it means God loved the world, not Mars. This fact is not explicit in the text; one needs to know other texts that spell out more clearly the intention of God, which in turn defines the scope.

      Because you “know” me better than my Christian friend – having read my other writings, you know that I intended something in harmony with the deep things of God, not blasphemy.

      One of my intentions in writing is to provoke. Sometimes it’s good to be a bit obscure so as to provoke a reaction, a communication.

      In this post, though, I had a single intention, which in your case showed something (good – polemic) that I did not intend, and which in my friend ‘s case illicted something bad – blasphemy.

      Try, try, try again, as they say.

Leave a Reply

