Henry, a Christian – How did you come to Christ?
ODJ – Don’t you know?
Henry – What do you mean?
ODJ – “The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit” (Jesus in John 3).

Update 15 February 2024.

Since the many years I wrote this post, I’ve learnt much. How we come to Christ involves not only the vertical level (Holy Spirit) but also the horizonal level in coming to Christ.

What is more:

Psalm 139:16 – “… all the days ordained for me were written in your book.” Gloriously perplexing.

The best thinking on the relationship of the vertical (God’s decree) and human will – in my book – comes from Colin (no surname) in his podcast Consistent Calvinism. https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=https%3A%2F%2Fdeow9bq0xqvbj.cloudfront.net%2Fimage-logo%2F10492711%2FCC8_resizezdjpg_ai32yu.jpg&tbnid=MxgKGa1aO4uu0M&vet=12ahUKEwjX-7a6r6-EAxXuQ6QEHShCDKsQMygAegQIARBG..i&imgrefurl=https%3A%2F%2Fconsistentcalvinism.podbean.com%2F&docid=RQQmzd-SaTvUYM&w=1400&h=1400&q=consistent%20calvinism&client=ms-android-samsung&ved=2ahUKEwjX-7a6r6-EAxXuQ6QEHShCDKsQMygAegQIARBG

I regularly listen to it. None my favourite Calvinists such as Matt Slick and the inimitable James White come near to Colin. Very important: he bases his reasonings on the Bible. It’s a pity he is not more well known.

6 responses to “Why I am a Christian: The briefest and most correct testimony”

  1. If I remember you have written quite lengthy on your salvation?

    1. Hi SJ. Troo. It was time for the sum up. What do you think of it?

      1. Yes it summarized the truth

  2. The author should know: Maintain your integrity. Reality in calvinism and worst lewis the human race for example blood sacrifice and the wind blows wherever it is because they may need psychology make to relate to believe that these dreams and the…
    My happening solvent invective at my site presents this more clearly

    1. Sorry, I can’t get beyond the gibberish.

  3. I published this post many years ago. Haven’t published anything for many years. I wrote an
    update to this post.

Leave a comment

Trending